About the Sacraments

A sacrament is an “efficacious sign of grace, instituted by Christ and entrusted to the Church, by which divine life is dispensed to us through the work of the Holy Spirit” (Catechism of the Catholic Church 774, 1131).

“The seven sacraments touch all the stages of Christian life: they give birth and increase, healing and mission to the Christian’s life of faith. There is thus a certain resemblance between the stages of natural life and the stages of the spiritual life” (CCC, 1210).

The Sacraments are divided into three distinct categories:

Initiation – Baptism, Confirmation and Eucharist
Healing – Reconciliation (Penance) and Anointing of the Sick
Vocation – Matrimony and Holy Orders

(Note: Explanations of the Sacraments are referenced from the Catechism of the Catholic Church.)